đŸŽ¯The Center

Understanding the Calendar from its center outwards...

Let's start with the basics: thankfully we now all know that Earth spins around the Sun! One spin around the sun is a year. This is the foundation of the EarthCycle Calendar's design: the calendar essentially represents one solar orbit of the earth.

The Sun

For this reason, sun is at the center of our calendar. Around it are the orbits of the planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Uranus, Neptune. Each is represented by its Latin symbol and by its symbolic color.

The Earth

As Earth spins around the sun, it also spins around its axis. Each spin is a day. Within one Earth orbit around the sun, Earth spins 365 times. In this way, the EarthCycles circle is divided into the 365 days-- the current year being featured.

The Other Planets

Joining Earth in its yearly solar spin are our seven neighbouring planets that make up our solar system. These are each represented on the calendar by symbol and color.

You can see the orbits of the other planet's beside Earth's. Each orbit is colored corresponding to its planet's color and marked with its latin symbol (see the legend). Of course, all the other planet's have their own unique orbital periods. While the inner planets spin more than once around the sun in 365 days. The outer planets spin less than once.

The full colored circle of the planet represents its beginning position at the start of the year. The solid circle represents its position at the end of the year. The thick line represents the amount of it's orbit that it has completed in the year.

Solstices & Equinoxes

While the center of the Calendar shows the distance traveled by each planet during the course of the year, the corners of the Calendar show the planet's precise position. In each corner of the calendar are representations of the precise positions of the planets at each Solstice and Equinox. Also, if you look closely you can see the precise position of the moon on that day as it orbits Earth.

Last updated