🏯Javanese Calendar

The EarthCycles Calendar includes the Javanese solar and lunar calendar. Inherited from the Majapait empire, the Javanese people of Central Java in Indonesia, have long maintained their remarkable and unique Calendar. The Javanese calendar is used by the main ethnicities of Java island—that is, the Javanese, Madurese, and Sundanese people. The current system of the Javanese calendar was inaugurated by Sultan Agung of Mataram in the Gregorian year 1633 CE.

On the EarthCycle Calendar we represent:

  • the native five-day week, called Pasaran

  • the Solar month, called Mangsathe

  • Lunar month, called Wulan

  • the lunar year, or Tahun

The Market Days

We've created an icon to visually represent each of the five market days along side the week days.

  • ꦊꦒꦶ (Legi) – ꦩꦤꦶꦱ꧀ (Manis)

  • ꦥꦲꦶꦁ (Pahing) – ꦥꦲꦶꦠ꧀ (Pait)

  • ꦥꦺꦴꦤ꧀ (Pon) – ꦥꦼꦠꦏ꧀ (Petak)

  • ꦮꦒꦺ (Wagé) – ꦕꦼꦩꦺꦁ (Cemèng)

  • ꦏ꧀ꦭꦶꦮꦺꦴꦤ꧀ (Kliwon) – ꦲꦱꦶꦃ (Asih)

Lunar Calendar

The alternating grey center circle of the calendar contains the lunar Javanese months.


Each lunar year (taun) is divided into a series of twelve wulan/sasi or lunar months. Each consists of 29 or 30 days. This is adapted from the use of months in the Islamic calendar. The names of the month are given below in Javanese and Arabic which can be used interchangeably:

Javanese lunar months

Ngoko (informal)

Arabic names

Length of days

Sura ꦱꦸꦫ

Muharram ( المحرّم )


Sapar ꦱꦥꦂ

Safar ( صفر )


Mulud/Rabingulawal ꦩꦸꦭꦸꦢ꧀/ꦫꦧꦶꦔꦸꦭꦮꦭ꧀

Rabi al-awwal ( ربيع الأوّل )


Bakda Mulud/Rabingulakir ꦧꦏ꧀ꦢꦩꦸꦭꦸꦢ꧀/ꦫꦧꦶꦔꦸꦭꦏꦶꦂ

Rabi al-thani ( ربيع الثاني )


Jumadilawal ꦗꦸꦩꦢꦶꦭꦮꦭ꧀

Jumada al-awwal ( جمادى الأولى )


Jumadilakir ꦗꦸꦩꦢꦶꦭꦏꦶꦂ

Jumada al-thani ( جمادى الآخرة )


Rejeb ꦉꦗꦼꦧ꧀

Rajab ( رجب )


Ruwah/Arwah ꦫꦸꦮꦃ/ꦲꦂꦮꦃ

Sha'aban ( شعبان )


Pasa/Siyam ꦥꦱ/ꦱꦶꦪꦩ꧀

Ramadhan ( رمضان )


Sawal ꦱꦮꦭ꧀

Shawwal ( شوّال )


Sela/Apit ꦱꦼꦭ/ꦲꦥꦶꦠ꧀

Dhu al-Qi'dah ( ذو القعدة )


Besar/Kaji ꦧꦼꦱꦂ/ꦏꦗꦶ

Dhu al-Hijjah ( ذو الحجّة )

29 or 30

Javanese Solar Year

The Javanese solar year is divided into twelve periods (mangsa) of unequal length that correspond to the Solstices and Equinoxes. Its origin lies in agriculture practice in Java. The cycle begins near the June solstice, around the middle of the dry season in Java. The names of the first ten months are simply the ordinal numbers from 1 to 10 in Javanese language, although the names of the 11th and 12th months are unclear.

Last updated